top of page
Search
  • David Hyland

Locked down, but still having fun!

It's been a while since I've used this blog for any interaction or game reports. Since the pandemic lock-down started happening for the COVID-19 (aka: Corona-virus), I found the time to start improving my portfolio website and decided to be a little active to all my blogs. Before this incident, I was busy trying to finish up my Masters of Science Degree in Game Production and Management over at the University of Advancing Technology as a full-time student. Not much to say other than trying to complete one Graduation Student Innovation Project (GSIP) and completing my degree before May 2020. But that's now no longer the case since the Graduation dates got pushed back to Fall 2020 and most of the help I was getting is now occupied. For about two weeks, the situation has gotten a bit worse and people are told not to go outside as much in order to prevent the virus from spreading further. While everything is still operational in Casa Grande, I decided to create a list of goals to do while I wait for the schools to open up again. Here is a list of things I wanted to do before Summer comes around:


1) Find a Job in Game Design- this is now set as my #1 priority in the list of things to do while the time is ripe. Since completing my final course in MS degree, my Veterans Assistance benefits (or the Post 9-11 GI bill) has finally been exhausted. Now I need to start job searching for any game companies hiring for help. I've also started to look into moving out somewhere in California, where most of the big video-game corporations are stationed, and started applying for the positions. I've sent out applications to video game companies like Naughty Dog LLC., Electronic Arts Inc., Machine Zone Inc., and HeartMachine game studio. While the process is slow (and a bit unorthodox since I am sending out these applications when most of these businesses are probably locked-down), I am patiently awaiting for any response for one of these entry-level opportunities and get started with my official career.


2) Learn the basics of development again- while I am still stuck at home, I thought about going back on some of my old work I use to create on old software editors and started going back on the general knowledge. I ended up re-downloading Unreal Engine 4, Visual Novel Maker, and Blender. My reason for doing this is so I can show off to whoever reads my portfolio, letting them know that i am still actively working on level design during my free time and will continue to improve my skills in game development. I've also started to take online lessons in C# Unity Programming since it's one of my weaker skills I need to improve on and started to practice a few written scripts of my own in a few small-time games. I have also thought about learning new programming tools like Aseprite for 2-D games or HTML5 programming since that's a skill to have right now in games involving web development.


3) Completing my backlog of Games I own- This is low on my priority list, but something I should consider doing sometime soon. I have a lot of old PS3 and PS4 games I never got around to completing (or even playing due to constant level grinding or achievements), but its still the games that I use to love playing and getting around to doing reviews for. There are a few other video games I have finished completely, but I never got a chance to go back and doing a review for those games like Marvel's Spider-Man (2018), Persona 5, Devil May Cry 5, Kingdom Hearts 3, Hyperlight Drifter, and so on. I'm thinking about doing a quick 30-minutes for each game during the weekend and writing a review on the game base on how I feel.


4) Keeping up on current news- It's vitally important to watch the news every morning, keeping up with what's happening with the outside world, but it's more important to learn about how the game industry is being affected. I've always been logging on to either Gamesutra or Siliconera to learn about the industry news and which games are being highlighted for their recent marketing development or release.


5) Have a little down-time with Family & Friends- Most of my family is living in California at this time (some actually got out of there before the stay home policy took effect) and are either tele-working at home or taking care of house chores. I've been talking with my family on our messenger and started to check on everyone's condition. Everyone is good right now, but they're a bit bored and need some excitement. Fortunately, we're arranging a night to go online and playing a Digital family game during this COVID-19 lock-down (except for Monopoly because it's banned in our family).


6) Play Mobile games- There's only two games that I've been playing for a long time on my Android tablet, Fate Grand Order (JP version) and Arknights (NA version). I have never once missed a login date for them and have an amazing 1600-days straight record for one of them. It's more of my own obligations to remain active as a player and start participating in event runs, but I also like to talk about the events on the Discord channel with other players and review the games.


While the pandemic COVID-19 has forced everyone to self-quarantine at home, it might be a little boring, but to some silver-lining I get from this, I can still remain active as a gamer until this period passes off. I will continue to update my blog and start making notes on what I did every week. I hope everyone stays safe and healthy until this whole thing blows over.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Marketing Postmortem

At least three (3) things you felt were done well. I realize the difficulty of this marketing course and understood well what was expected from myself to understand the material. I believe the few thi

bottom of page